Let's go to the movies!

Mia Wasikowska stars in the Eighth Adaptation of “Jane Eyre”

If you’re like me and love films adapted from traditional British romance novels, like Pride and Prejudice, A Room with a View, and Atonement, be sure not to miss this one next year!

Focus Feature’s Jane Eyre (PG-13) is a romance-drama adaptation based on 1847 British gothic horror novel written by Charlottle Bronte.

The film, which hits theatres March 11, stars 21-year-old Mia Wasikowska, known for her recent role in Disney’s Alice in Wonderland.

The very first Jane Eyre adaptation (1934)

It follows the life of Jane Eyre (Wasikowska) as an orphan living in the confines of her aunt’s house up to the point where she becomes the governess to her potential lover Edward Rochester at Thornfield Manner. But when the wealthy Rochester brings another woman into Thornfield Manner things begin to change as Jane tries to uncover Rochester’s hidden secrets.

The film also stars Michael Fassbender and Jamie Bell.

But this is not the first time Charlottel Bronte’s novel has been adapted into a movie.

There are about seven other adaptations to the film.

One adaptation, starred Anna Paquin, William Hurt, and Charlotte Gainsbourg in 1996.

The very first adaptation premiered in 1934, which starred Virginia Bruce and Collin Clive according to Yahoo Movies.

One response

  1. Good. I do have a question about your Cage post down the page a bit. So, how does that work: you can wait two years after an initital release before you have a wide-spread release. Why would you do that?

    November 18, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s